Four Race Opener for Blackford’s Pre-TT Classic

Once the just has settled on the Colas Billown Course after the two practices sessions the first four races of the 2024 Blackford Financial Services Pre-TT Classic Road Races get underway on Saturday Evening 25th May between 6.00pm and 9.00pm.

MSP-R once again sponsor the 350cc/250cc Singles Race and last year’s 250cc winner, Barry Davidson and previous winner Keith Shannon will battle it out along with Gary Hutton, Steve Higerty and Geoff Bates amongst others.

Mike Hose, 350cc class winner last year, is absent this time around, which means anew name will appear on the trophy for 2024, names to look out for include podium finishers from last year, Will Loder and Adrian Skaife. Add in Rod Graham, Steven Moody, Shelly Pike, and Edward Poole and a close fought six lap race could be on the cards.

The 1100cc Classic Race welcomes new sponsor, Foraging Vintners of Port St Mary  and has once again attracted a good grid with previous victor Alan Oversby in with a chance of taking the chequered flag again. However, podium finisher twelve months ago Andy Hornby will also his sights on the trophy and prize money, as will Mike Browne, Chris McGahan, Steven Elliott, Will Loder, Barry Davidson, Hefyn Owen, to name but a few – certainly not one for the feint hearted!

Rhys Hardisty won the Geoff Duke Junior Superbike Race last year and returns to hopefully keep hold of the prized trophy. However a full grid of thirty competitors will also have an eye on the prize, including another previous winner, Chris Moore (runner-up in 2023 and 2022 winner), along with other 250 runners, Dan Sayle, Tom Snow, Adrian Skaife, Barry Davidson, Steve Higerty, Joey Thompson, and Simon Lehane. With 400cc machines being permitted for the first time, their riders could spice up the action as they include Joe Yeardsley, Alan Oversby, Richard Ford, Owen Monaghan, Steve Moody, and Marc Colvin.

The two Sidecar races at this year’s Blackford’s Pre-TT Classic Road Races, have their first race on the Saturday evening after three solo races and the ‘chairs’ bring the curtain down on the main race day, Sunday.

With last years winner playing away with modern machinery, second and third place crews Jack Gristwood and Alice Smith and Danny Quirk, with new passenger Sharon Reeves, who is a newcomer to Billown, will no doubt have their eyes on the top spot of the podium. Again, the remainder of the field have the same ambitions, taking the chequered flag first, they include previous winner Mike Bellaby and Dave Gristwood, Thony Thirkell and William Moralee, Kenny Howles and Jordan Forrest and previous Southern 100 Sidecar champion Greg Lambert with Andrew Haynes in the chair amongst others.


Photo courtesy of Richard Radcliffe shows Barry Davidson on his way to winning the 250cc Singles Race.


Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, qui aperiam vituperatoribus at. Aliquip percipit ei vix, ceteros mentitum reprehendunt eu est.


Monday-Friday: 9am to 5pm; Satuday: 10am to 2pm
7300-7398 Colonial Rd, Brooklyn 242 Wythe Ave #4, Brooklyn
+ (123) 124-567-8901 + (123) 124-567-8901